Governing Board

A Governing Board of up to 15 volunteers provides stewardship for The Dayton Foundation and its charitable activities.

These experienced civic leaders are appointed to five-year terms.

The Governing Board also serves as the Board of Trustees for the following related organizations: The Dayton Foundation, Inc., Dayton Foundation Depository, Inc., Dayton Foundation Realty, LLC, and The Greater Dayton Pooled Income Fund (which invests gifts and pays income for life to donors and their beneficiaries).

The Governing Board also appoints at least one representative to the boards of each supporting organization of The Dayton Foundation.

Governing Board (As of July 1, 2023)

David T. Miller
David T. Miller, retired vice president of Finance and CFO, Dayton Children’s, chair

Janice L. Culver, retired chief fiduciary officer, KeyBank NA, Cleveland vice chair
Rakesh Arora
Rakesh Arora, CEO, CIC AMERICA Group of Companies
Cassie B. Barlow
Cassie B. Barlow, COO, Strategic Ohio Council for Higher Education, and retired 88th Air Base Wing and Installation Commander, Wright-Patterson Air Force Base
Thomas J. Becker
Thomas J. Becker, past CEO, Becker Electric Supply
Marva Cosby
Marva Cosby, SHRM-SCP, president, Cosby Consulting Group, LLC,

J. Norman Eckstein, retired senior vice president, Marsh & McLennan Agency LLC Company
George E. Forest
George E. Forest, retired Lieutenant Colonel, United States Air Force, and director of logistics, Special Operations Forces Group
Art Harlan
Art Harlan, director, Henny Penny Corporation
Valerie Lemmie
Valerie Lemmie, director of Exploratory Research, Charles F. Kettering Foundation
Alice O. McCollum
Alice O. McCollum, retired judge, Montgomery County Probate Court
L. Tony Ortiz
L. Tony Ortiz, Faculty Emeritus, Wright State University
Martha Shaker
Martha Shaker, president, Concept Rehab, Inc.
Josh Stucky
Josh Stucky, proprietor, Square One Salons & Spas
James M. Vaughn
James M. Vaughn, vice president of Finance, Taylor Communications, Inc.

^ top of page

Audit Committee

J. Norman Eckstein, chair; Rakesh Arora, Craig J. Brown, Tom DeRoss, Karl Frydryk, Ellen S. Ireland, David T. Miller, Samuel Oyebanjo, James M. Vaughn

Development Committee

Thomas J. Becker, chair; Scott Behnken, Belinda Burns, Allyson Danis, Mark S. Fornes, Jonathan Hale, Calvin Heard, Joshua Johnson, Stanley Katz, Brady Kress, Regis Lekan, Albert W. Leland, Robin McCall, Alice O. McCollum, David T. Miller, Shaun P. Nicholson, Nancy Roberson, Vincent Russell, Frank Scott, Jeffrey Winwood

Executive Committee

David T. Miller, chair; Janice L. Culver, Cassie Barlow, Thomas J. Becker, Marva Cosby, Norman J. Eckstein, George E. Forest, James M. Vaughn

Finance Committee

James M. Vaughn, chair; Rakesh Arora, Craig J. Brown, Ellen S. Ireland, William T. Lincoln, David T. Miller, Edmund H. Moore, Ratna K. Palakodeti, Chris Shafer

Grants Committee

George E. Forest, chair; Janice L. Culver, William L. Gillispie, Lisa E. Hanauer, Ellen Ireland, Valerie Lemmie, David T. Miller, L. Tony Ortiz, Dr. Ratna Palakodeti, Geraldine Pegues, Kathy Rearick, Richard A. Schultze, Martha Shaker

Marketing/Public Relations Committee

Cassie B. Barlow, chair; David E. Bowman, John Farrell, Helen E. Jones-Kelley, Alexis Larsen, Gary L. LeRoy, Judy D. McCormick, Scott Murphy, Jamie Schade, Andrew Storar, Josh Stucky, Betsy B. Whitney, Laura Woeste

Past Governing Board Members

Charles F. Kettering 1921-25
D. Frank Garland 1921-28
William D. Chamberlin 1921-36
Francis J. McCormick 1921-38
Milton Stern 1921-43
John G. Lowe 1925-27
Donald A. Kohr 1927-58
Ezra M. Kuhns 1928-60
Harry B. Canby 1936-56
H. Beckman Ohmer 1939-41
Charles J. Brennan 1942-62
Jack R. Silverman 1945-46
Samuel L. Finn 1946-58
Edward L. Kohnle 1957-73
Milton H. Wagner 1958-71
David L. Rike 1961-78
William Kuntz 1962-73
Robert A. Stein 1972-73
John E. Moore, Sr. 1972-91
Louis S. Goldman 1973-82
Robert S. Oelman 1974-80
Charles W. Danis 1974-84
Frederick C. Smith 1979-89
Anne S. Greene 1980-90
Jesse Philips 1983-92
Richard F. Glennon, Sr. 1984-98
Lloyd E. Lewis, Jr. 1988-94
Burnell R. Roberts 1989-2000
Thomas J. Danis 1990-99
Charles Abramovitz 1990-01
John W. Berry, Sr. 1991-97
Charles S. Brown 1992-01
Douglas L. Hawthorne 1993-02
Robert S. Neff 1993-02
Caryl D. Philips 1993-02
Betsy B. Whitney 1993-02
Clayton L. Mathile 1994-96
Rajesh K. Soin 1994-01
Estus Smith 1994-02
Paula J. MacIlwaine 1994-04
David R. Holmes 1998-01
Thomas G. Breitenbach 1998-10
John N. Taylor, Jr. 1999-03
Judy D. McCormick 1999-08
Franz J. Hoge 2000-09
Fred C. Setzer, Jr. 2001-10
Laura B. Pannier 2002-06
Charles A. Jones 2002-11
Helen E. Jones-Kelley 2002-14
Fred E. Weber 2002-11
Leo E. Knight, Jr. 2003-07
Jamie King 2003-09
Douglas C. Scholz 2003-12
Richard W. Schwartz 2004-10
Gary L. LeRoy 2004-13
Jerome F. Tatar 2004-15
Ellen S. Ireland 2005-16
Vicki D. Pegg 2006-11
Colleen M. Ryan 2009-18
Craig J. Brown 2009-20
Anita J. Moore 2010-22
Charles G. Schroeder 2010-16
Ratna Palakodeti, 2011-20
Maureen A. Lynch 2011-22
James R. Pancoast 2011-22
William L. Gillispie 2012-22
Lisa E. Hanauer 2012-22
Rick Omlor 2014-18


^ top of page
File date: 09.11.23

Board Chair

David T. Miller

– David T. Miller, Governing Board chair and Foundation donor

  • foundation
  • foundation
  • foundation