Joseph T. Cline Awards Fund Honors 10 City of Dayton Employees


The Dayton Foundation is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2023 Joseph T. Cline Awards. The Joseph T. Cline Awards Fund of The Dayton Foundation was established by his daughter, Carolynne H. Cline, in 1984 to honor City of Dayton employees who strive for excellence in their careers as public servants and in their civic contributions. A longtime supporter of Dayton, Joseph Cline was a British-born optometrist who founded, chaired and volunteered for many of Dayton’s civic organizations.

Cline’s granddaughter, Meredith A. Cline, presented the awards at the Dayton City Commission meeting on December 13. Recipients of this year’s award are:

  • Brian Dahm, Division Manager-Street Maintenance, Department of Public Works;
  • Jeannette Horwitz, Welcome Dayton Coordinator, Planning, Neighborhoods and Development;
  • Jonathan Johnson, Community Engagement Specialist, Planning, Neighborhoods and Development;
  • Marques Kincaid, Firefighter, Dayton Fire Department;
  • Theresa McGeady, Environmental Specialist, Water Department;
  • Abbie Patel-Jones, Director, Procurement, Management and Budget;
  • Christopher Rowlett, Lieutenant, Dayton Fire Department;
  • Mike Squire, Division Manager Community Engagement, Planning, Neighborhoods and Development;
  • Jason Stone, Systems Engineer, Information Technology; and
  • Susan Vincent, Planner II, Planning, Neighborhoods and Development.

The award amount varies each year, with recipients this year receiving $537.69 each. Since 1991, 230 city employees have been honored with this award for a total of $77,777 awarded to date.

“The Joseph T. Cline Awards Fund encourages excellence by city employees regardless of rank or position. As a testament to that, the 2023 recipients range from 2 to 25 in service years, with an amazing 81 total years of dedication to their jobs and their community,” said Lucy Baker, donor relations officer for The Dayton Foundation.

Citizens, as well as City of Dayton employees, may nominate individuals for this award. Applications for the 2024 award will be available in September 2024.